Michigan State Police Cracking Down On This Law

posted by Dr. Darrius - 

Michigan State Police

Michigan State Police are targeting motorist who don't slow down or move over when approaching a stationary emergency vehicle with its emergency lights activated. 

By law, drivers are suppose to either change lanes or slow down when approaching, according to the Michigan Department of Transportation. Those found guilty of violating the law could face a $500 fine, 90 days in jail or both. 

MOVE OVER! ON ROADS WITH TWO OR MORE LANES OF TRAVEL IN THE SAME DIRECTION

When approaching a stationary emergency vehicle with its emergency lights activated carefully move over into an open lane. If this is not possible due to traffic, weather, or road conditions, slow down and pass with caution, allowing the emergency vehicle as much space as possible. 

ON ROADS WITH ONE LANE OF TRAVEL IN EACH DIRECTION

When approaching a stationary emergency vehicle with its emergency lights activated carefully move over into an open adjacent lane. If this is not possible due to trafifc, weather, or road conditions, slow down and pass with caution, allowing the emergency vehicle as much space as possible.

MICHIGAN’S EMERGENCY VEHICLE CAUTION LAW 

Michigan’s Emergency Vehicle Caution Law, more commonly known as the Move Over Law, requires motorists to move over for stationary emergency vehicles with their lights activated or slow down and pass with caution if it is not possible to safely change lanes. 

The law applies to the following vehicles: 

  1. Police 
  2. Fire 
  3. Rescue 
  4. Ambulance Road Service 
  5. Road service vehicles include tow trucks and courtesy vehicles operated by the Michigan Department of Transportation.


Be safe out there!

title

Content Goes Here